Gaelen Foley’s My Scandalous Viscount

My Scandalous Viscount is the fifth book in Gaelen Foley’s The Inferno Club series. I have read a couple of the other books in the series and I liked My Ruthless Prince (#4).

In short, the Inferno Club is a group of elite men who pretend to be a part of an infamous gentlemen’s club. In reality, it’s a front for a spy operation that is trying to take down an evil international organization.

It was an okay read.

Summary of My Scandalous Viscount from Foley’s website:

Sebastian, Viscount Beauchamp lives by a code of honor, and now honor dictates he must marry Miss Carissa Portland. He has no regrets over stealing a kiss from the adorable little busybody—a fitting punishment for putting her delectable nose where it didn’t belong. But now, caught in a compromising situation, he knows he must make her his bride. He’s faced danger before—but nothing like this!

Carissa is not a gossip—she’s a “lady of information.” And all she was trying to do was warn the rakehell Beauchamp away from an irate husband. But even she can’t flaunt Society, and while her head tells her that Beau’s a notorious scoundrel, her heart–and her body–are captivated by his dangerous charm. But when Carissa next goes snooping, the secrets she uncovers about the Inferno Club may prove even more hazardous than falling in love with your own husband!

If you’ve read other Inferno Club books, you’ll like this, I think. I didn’t like this very much. But take this with a grain of salt: I often don’t like complicated back stories in my romance novels. Even with My Ruthless Prince, which I liked much more than My Scandalous Viscount, I skimmed the sections that were long on explaining the relationship between players, the goals of these competing groups (the good and the evil), and the actual action taken by Inferno Club members to destroy their adversaries. I’m really in it for the kissing and the sex and the falling in love.

And in that area in this book, I felt “eh” about. Sebastian and Carissa’s relationship was rushed. Foley often told me about their affection for one another rather than just show it (something that is always a turn off for me).

Still, most of my indifference to this novel is my overall indifference to the Inferno Club background. I like Foley’s style generally (in fact, I LOVE her Knights Miscellany series – many of those books have ended up on “My Favorite Romance Novels” list). It’s crisp and clean and she moves a story forward. This particular series, though, is not my cup o’ tea.

I give My Scandalous Viscount 2.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

