An Idea

Today on Twitter, yet another link to another blog post about whether women who read romance novels are embarrassed to admit it went across my feed. SSSSIIIIGGGGHHHHH.

As I wrote on my “About” page for this blog:

I was embarrassed for a long time to admit how much I loved romance novels. Then, one day, I saw Maureen Johnson on Twitter railing against the term “trashy books” and talking about how only a certain type of book, those (mainly) written and consumed by women, get this derogatory title. And that the truth is, most literature is crap. Among “trashy books” there is total shit, but there are also amazing gems written as well as the best literature I have ever read. Johnson’s tweets were timely for me because I had just read Lisa Kleypas’ Love in the Afternoon, which is one of my most favorite books ever and I didn’t want to put it on Goodreads at the time because it was a romance novel. But I also felt compelled to tell everyone about this amazing, emotional, and beautiful book I had read.

So I decided: fuck it.

I started to proclaim loudly how much I loved romance novels and, wouldn’t you know, lots of people in my life have admitted to me how much they love them.

And here is what I said on Twitter today:

I wish I could destroy any and all embarrassment women have at liking to read books that have lust or sex in them. Go on, ladies. Read those romance novels and like it. I ain’t gonna judge you.

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again.

Romance novels are the only space where a man wanting to go down on a woman is not only a good thing, it’s a TROPE of the genre. 

OF COURSE WOMEN READ TONS OF ROMANCE NOVELS.

And then I had an idea.

Perhaps the best idea I’ve ever had:

I should start a blog post where I keep a chart of romance novels and the page on which the “dude happily going down on woman” scene appears.

For science.

And quick reference.

I’m going to guess that it will be the most clicked on page on the entire internet!

I NEED YOUR HELP!!! If you are reading ANY novel and come across a scene where someone happily goes down on anyone who isn’t a cis man, send me the title, the author, and the page number: scatx [at] scatx [dot] com. 

I am collecting all submissions on this here page.

Also, I started this: @HappilyGoinDown.

One thought on “An Idea

Leave a Reply

