Nope.

I’m about to get controversial up in here. Because if Goodreads is any indication, people love the romance novel Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens. I did not. And I cannot for my life understand why people enjoyed this sop fest. At least with Fifty Shades of Grey you got some interesting(?) sex scenes.

Here is the description of the book from Goodreads:

For almost two years now, Kiera’s boyfriend, Denny, has been everything she’s ever wanted: loving, tender and endlessly devoted to her. When they head off to a new city to start their lives together, Denny at his dream job and Kiera at a top-notch university, everything seems perfect. Then an unforeseen obligation forces the happy couple apart.

Feeling lonely, confused, and in need of comfort, Kiera turns to an unexpected source—a local rock star named Kellan Kyle. At first, he’s purely a friend that she can lean on, but as her loneliness grows, so does their relationship. And then one night everything changes…and none of them will ever be the same.

Here was my internal dialogue for about 80% of the book: “JUST MAKE A DECISION, KIERA! WHY ARE YOU STILL HANGING AROUND, KELLAN? CAN’T YOU SEE WHAT’S HAPPENING, DENNY?” Rinse, repeat. There was so little to like in these characters because I found Kiera to be endlessly frustrating and her indecision — which hurt EVERYBODY — to be nearly sadistic in its sheer longevity (for the reader as much as the characters in the book). And so, even if there was something sexy about Kellan, the fact that he was willing to stick around for this woman that I couldn’t stand really took the shine off of him.

This scene between Kellan and Kiera near the end of Thoughtless summed it up for me:

“I should have left ages ago. I was just…being selfish.”

I gaped at him, disbelieving. He thought he was being selfish? Here, I was the one literally shuffling between the beds of two men, and he was selfish? “I think I give new meaning to the word, Kellan.”

He smiled a little when he looked back up at me, and then his face got serious again. “You were scared, Kiera. I understand that. You’re scared to let go…I am too. But everything will be fine.”

SHE IS THE WORST, KELLAN. STOP DEFENDING HER! Why do I want to read 360 pages of someone being completely thoughtless while tugging along two people, neither of whom is clued in enough to run the other way?

I would not have finished this book had I not spent money on it. It was repetitious, the characters were hard to like, and so it made it extremely hard for me to care about the individual development or the relationships they had with each other.

Plenty of people disagree with me. But I cannot recommend this book. 1 out of 5 stars for Thoughtless by S. C. Stephens.

One thought on “Nope.

Leave a Reply

