Writing a negative review

I once wrote a review of a romance novel that went something like this: “I only read 20% of this because issues around consent were TERRIBLE.” I had received an advanced reader copy (ARC) of the book so I made sure to send my review, which was negative, to the publisher via Net Galley, the expected protocol.

Since then, the publisher of that book has rejected my two requests for advanced reader copies. I stopped requesting from them.

Now I want to write a review for a book I didn’t finish because I didn’t like the writer’s style. But I am worried I’ll be cut off from ARCs from that publisher if I write a negative review.

This isn’t a big deal in the scheme of things. It’s just that I like having access to ARCs and I don’t want to feel pressure to lie about how I feel about a book. I mean, I can’t PROVE the reason my other two requests from that publisher were denied because I wrote a bad review of one of their books. But come on.

One thought on “Writing a negative review

  1. As you may know, H. L. Mencken once reviewed a book by quoting its godawful first sentence, then commenting, “Thus the story begins. God knows how it ends.”

Leave a Reply

